Things I Can’t Get Enough Of…

24 Feb

Lately, there are a few things that I just can’t get enough of. One of them is naps. However, sometimes a good nap has a way of coming back to bite me. Like, last night when I couldn’t sleep at all due to the awesome nap I took earlier and the fact that Baby Lily was having some sort of dance party all up on’s my internal organs.

Here’s the deal, though. When I have trouble sleeping these days, I just count it as newborn conditioning and find something with which to amuse myself…like the book, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter, one of the best “true stories” I’ve read in a long time. I need you all to know that I was on about page 30 of this book when I got out of bed to read it last night and I did not return to bed until I was completely finished. Love it when that happens!

Best cover ever, right?

I really enjoyed Seth Grahame-Smith’s other bestseller, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies  so I was pretty much stoked to start on ‘ole Honest Abe. I think what I like the most about these books is the fact that they’re sparked by such a ridiculous juxtaposition of themes/styles/ideas that you kind of just can’t resist. And once you’re in, you’re hooked. I have, legit, not been able to stop thinking about Abraham Lincoln and vampires and how amazed I am that I enjoyed a vampire book so much since that whole fad is pretty much ooooover for me. Like, stake through it’s heart over. (Bad pun. Sorry. I’ll never do it again.) Anyway, I loved the writing style, I loved the plot and the conspiracy theory, and I love, love, loved the ending. It was perfect. So. Go read this book. It’s great.

And speaking of books you should read, go get Plant a Kiss by Amy Krouse Rosenthal.

So sweet!!

(Sidenote: What’s with authors and their double last names? They’re so trendy or some such!) It is a precious picture book about sharing love. You should share it with someone you love asap. Mags’ Granny got it for her for Valentine’s and we have to read it before bedtime and every nap. She calls it, “Kiss Book,” which is precious, I think.

Also, I’m obsessed with anything that is lemon flavored. Perchance my body is telling me that this kid needs more vitamin C…I hope you can get that from eating Mrs. Baird’s fried pies and lemon Girl Scout cookies, cause that’s my preferred method of vitamin intake. And I’m not sorry.

And, last, I’ve been obsessed with this song for a few months now. Seriously, can’t get enough. It pretty much sums up how our little family rolls these days…and by “rolls” I mean “body rolls” cause we dance to this all. the. time. You should, too. Press play right now and get your dance on. It’s good for the soul, I say!

 

PS. I tried for a long time and couldn’t really figure out how to get the actual video to be on the blog, so the link will have to do. Ok, it really wasn’t a “long” time, per se, but I need to go get my laundry on and maybe bathe. Maybe. I’m sure you understand.

3 Responses to “Things I Can’t Get Enough Of…”

  1. Diana February 25, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    “Home”

    Alabama, Arkansas. I do Love my Ma and Pa,
    Not the way that I do Love you.

    Holy, Moly, Me, oh, My. You’re the apple of my eye.
    Girl I’ve never loved one like you.

    Man oh man, you’re my best friend; I scream it to the nothingness.
    There ain’t nothing that I need.

    Hot and Heavy pumpkin pie,
    Chocolate candy, Jesus Christ.
    Ain’t nothing please me more than you.

    [Chorus:]
    Home, Let me come Home.
    Home is Whenever I’m with you.
    Home, yes, I am Home.
    Home is wherever I’m with you.

    Lalalala, take me home.
    Mama, I’m coming home.

    I follow you into the park, through the jungle, through the dark.
    Girl, I’ve never loved one like you.

    Moats and boats and Waterfalls. Alleyways and payphone calls.
    I been everywhere with you (that’s true.)

    Laugh until we think we’ll die; barefoot on a summer night,
    never could be sweeter than with you.

    And in the streets you run a free,
    Like it’s only you and me,
    Geeze, you’re something to see.

    [Chorus]

    Lalalala, take me home.
    Mama I’m coming home.

    ‒ Jade?
    ‒ Alexander?
    ‒ Do you remember that day you fell outta my window?
    ‒ I sure do ‒ you came jumping right out after me.
    ‒ Well, you fell on the concrete, nearly broke your ass; you were bleeding all over the place. I rushed you out to the hospital, you remember that?
    ‒ Yes, I do.
    ‒ Well there’s something I never told you about that night.
    ‒ What didn’t you tell me?
    ‒ Well, while you were sitting in the back seat smoking a cigarette you thought was gonna be your last, I was falling deep, deep in love with you, and I never told you till just now!

    [Chorus]

    Home, let me come home, home is wherever I’m with you
    Home, yes, I am home; home is whenever I’m with you!

    Alabama, Arkansas I do love my Ma and Pa.
    Yes, home, yes, ward! home is whenever I’m with you!
    Home is whenever I’m with you.

  2. Diana February 25, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    I had to look up the words…I’m too old or too out of it to know this one. Glad you are at home! It’s a great place to be wherever it is! Love you!!!

  3. Kate February 25, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    I love that song so much. Hope Lil gives you good rest tonight!

Leave a Reply

