Baby Watch 2012

5 May

I’m not certain that Maggie has any idea of what life-shattering changes are about to befall her. In fact, I’m starting to believe that she really just thinks that we’ve given a name to my ever-growing belly and that’s all there is to it. She definitely refers to the belly as Baby Lily, or “Baby Yiddy,” which is good. However, I got the idea that she doesn’t really grasp the fact that there’s a human in there the other day when she lifted my shirt, saw my stretch marks – of which there are a zillion – and said, “Oh, no! Baby Yiddy’s hurt, Mommy!”

 

I am not ashamed to say that my first thoughts went something to the tune of, “What the heck?! Baby Lily’s perfectly fine!! It’s Mommy who’s sporting the stretch marks! Mommy’s the one hauling Baby Lily around like a pack mule! How about some sympathy for Mommy?!?” Have I mentioned I’m a bit emotional these days? I didn’t say any of these things to my child, but rather assured her that Lily wasn’t hurt at all and that it was nice of her to be so compassionate, after which she pulled my shirt down over the belly and said, “Baby Yiddy cooooold! Cover up!”

 

Whether or not she knows she’s getting a real live baby sister and not just a rogue goiter on her mother’s body is yet to be understood. However, time will tell and the time draws nigh. We’re going to have us a new baby soon and I, for one, am very, very excited!

One Response to “Baby Watch 2012”

  1. Granny May 5, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    I keep jumping every time the phone rings. I just knew the full moon would have an impact. After all – Lily – Farmer’s Almanac…it seemed like a logical connection to me. And, the moon is supposed to be the brightest it’s been in forever and that’s what Lily will need to be if she keeps up with her big sis, Maggie. Sunday is marked full moon on my calendar so there’s just one more day until I’m right or wrong…

Leave a Reply

