She’s Here…Which Means, I’m Back!

31 May

I’m back! And guess what?? This happened!!

 

 

Lily Colette arrived on May 20 at 2:15 am weighing in at 8 lbs. 1 oz. and was 20 inches long! Holy Toledo, folks, she is so perfect!

 

 

So, that’s two perfect girls for us! Without a doubt, we are beyond blessed.

 

While I’ve always been very interested in natural childbirth (that is, without use of medical interventions like epidurals, Pitocin, etc.), I really did my research while I was pregnant with Lily. Maggie’s delivery was plagued with pretty much every possible medical procedure/medication available aside from a C-section…which we thought was going to happen at one point. After experiencing childbirth from that perspective I was determined to experience it from the opposite perspective. I just didn’t feel satisfied that my experience with Maggie’s birth – while still a beautiful and moving experience – was the way childbirth HAD to be. After reading tons of blogs and books and endlessly picking the brain of my sweet friend, Kate, who is currently pursuing her doula certification, I’m happy to say that Lily’s arrival was not only completely drug and intervention free, but was the absolute confirmation that natural childbirth was what my soul was longing for.

 

I’m still processing all of the details of Lily’s birth and am attempting to function as the mom of two (holy cow, we have two kids!!!) on zero sleep, however, I’m planning to write out both birth experiences and compare my thoughts. This will probably be a series of entries since birth stories tend to be a bit drawn out, but do stay tuned! Discovering the truth about natural childbirth is something that’s become an incredible passion of mine and I’m excited to discover where this passion will take me! For now, I’ll leave you with a couple more photos of one of the sweetest days I’ve ever had…

 

Please pardon my awkward hand on my husband’s knee. Apparently lack of sleep makes me a certified creeper…sheesh.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “She’s Here…Which Means, I’m Back!”

  1. Haley @ Carrots for Michaelmas May 31, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Yay yay yay! Praise God from whom all blessings flow. She’s perfect.

  2. Kate May 31, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Yay for Lily! Get what rest you can, Mom!

  3. Granny May 31, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Beautiful baby, beautiful mom~wonderful family. I love you all and am glad to see you can keep up with Maggie, take care of Lily, co-habitate with Vinnie and still find time to blog. You rock!

Leave a Reply

