Things for Which I am Grateful

18 Aug

I think we’re very seldom thankful enough. Or at least we don’t take time to focus on the myriad of glorious little gifts we’ve been given every day. I think that it is truly spectacular that when Mag says her prayers at night, they are always prayers of gratitude.

 

“Thank you, God, for my dinner and for me sleepin’ in my bed.”

 

Pretty great, right?

 

We could all use a little gratitude, so here’s my list for today. Add yours in the comments section!

 

Things for Which I am Grateful:

  1. The magical Mickey and Minnie Mouse potty that Vin brought home. It has Changed. My. World. Progress, people, progress.
  2. The fact that I have done yard work, laundry, fed children and still managed to take a nap today. If that’s not a heavenly gift, then I don’t know what is.
  3. Good neighbors who are willing to lend a hand.
  4. A God who reaches to us from the souls of others, continually teaching and re-teaching us how to love Him through them.
  5. My bff, Britt. She came to visit us last week and my heart is just so warmed to have spent time with a kindred spirit. We’re basically Anne and Diana all over again…only we didn’t get to enjoy any raspberry cordial what with my breastfeeding and all. (If you didn’t get that reference, get yourself to the nearest library and read Anne of Green Gables and then watch the movie, preferably with your bestie. Sheesh, people.)
  6. A house that is loud, chaotic, full of laughter, and love and home grown tomatoes that people have given us.

 

That’s just the first six that came to mind, but I could go on and on and on. That’s the thing about thankfulness. Once you get started, you really can’t stop thinking about how much you truly have. I’m going to go listen to Bing Crosby sing about blessings, now. Don’t forget to list your blessings in the comments!

7 Responses to “Things for Which I am Grateful”

  1. Granny August 18, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Ahh, good parents! Good parents are a blessing…as well as the people that make your home loud and chaotic. I feel so blessed to have you, Vin, and those little darlings – Lily and Maggie. And, I’m grateful for Zulily where I can finds “stuff” that reminds me of my granddaughters and gives me a channel to keep in touch! Now if wiggle nose travel would progress, I would be really blessed – I miss you all!

    • ohblessyourheart August 19, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Oooh, how I wish wiggle transport were possible! You certainly hit the parent jackpot, as did I. 🙂 Love you so much, Mama, more than words can say!

  2. Aunt Mary August 18, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Grateful for Mary Susan!

  3. Haley Herber August 18, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    1) Sweet moments in which my almost 2 year old unknowingly teaches me life lessons about love and faith.

    2) Opening a fridge this is full of delicious food and getting clean water at the turn of a knob.

    3) Toy story stickers and construction paper that keep my busy toddler distracted so I can get ready in the morning!

    4) Healthy health!

    5) A graceful, merciful God who loves unconditionally.

    6) The tough times that have made my marriage stronger. Although that one is easier to be thankful for in hind sight 🙂

    The list could go on and on. God has blessed me in ways that I could’ve never imagined! He is so very good!

    • ohblessyourheart August 19, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      So good! And so true on the tough times…what a blessing that we can appreciate them instead of wallowing, right? Thanks for sharing, friend!

  4. Stephanie P. August 29, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    I am so grateful for every moment that I get to spend with our boys, and for God leading us on this path!

Leave a Reply

