Storm Update and Cake Recipe

2 Nov

This is a few days past true relevance since we really weren’t affected by the storm as much as others, but here goes anyway. (Do continue to pray for those affected by the storm, I can’t begin to imagine the emotional/physical/logistical state they must be in.)  So, anyway, we’ve been very fortunate since the storm hit.

 

We did have a moderately exciting night in which I attempted to cook some scrambled eggs for dinner but lost power mid-scramble. Luckily for us, we have a gas stove. So never fear, my sweet family was lucky enough to get their dinner, albeit late and lukewarm. Aren’t they so lucky to live with such a classically trained chef who whips up such delicacies in such trying circumstances? I mean, really!

 

The worst part of losing power was that Maggins was in the other room when we were plunged into darkness and it took us a minute to locate her. If you’ve seen my level of “housekeeping,” I’m sure you can imagine the difficulty in navigating through the garbage to find a panicking two-year-old. Luckily for us, we didn’t lose our connection to the interwebs and I was able to show Mags the hurricane videos from Sesame Street that my dear friend, Kate, shared with me earlier. It really helped with her anxiety. Seriously, I just love Sesame Street and if you haven’t seen the hurricane episode you have to. I’m constantly amazed that they’re able to deal with such big scary things with such sensitivity and poise. Sesame Street never panders or condescends and that, that is why you should support public broadcasting!! (And off of my soapbox.)

 

Anyway, we lost power for about a day, but were fortunate enough to be able to have the safe haven of Nana and Papa’s to retreat to. On our drive to said haven we saw  tons and tons of uprooted trees, which always makes me sad. It really was crazy though. I think due to the fact that we had about four days straight of rain and then got the high winds, those poor trees literally fell over, roots and all. At one point we saw a few old, old oak trees completely destroyed, roots in the air, lawns still clinging to their bases, truly a sad, sad sight. But, DO NOT WORRY. All, and I do mean ALL four hundred political signs across the street were unharmed. So you can rest easy that, despite inclement weather, Northeastern Ohio residents are still reminded that Josh Mandel and Sherrod Brown exist. Thank goodness! Without our televisions broadcasting their dueling puppet commercials 24/7, we might forget about them!!

 

Aaaand segway…So, if you’re stuck inside due to horrible weather or just have someone you’d like to send into diabetic shock, I recommend baking this cake!

 

 

So. Good.

 

 

So here are the ingredients you need to make this lusciousness:

  • 2 boxes of brownie mix, whatever brand you prefer. I told you I’m a chef!
  • 1 recipe of rice crispy treats (1 stick butter, 4 cups mini-marshmallows, 5 cups rice crispies, a bit of vanilla…melt, mix, combine, etc.)  *Note: Make your treats on the thin side so you’ll be able to cut the cake easily, and so you’ll have extra left over to eat later. I’m always thinkin’…
  • One recipe of buttercream frosting – I think I did, like, a stick or two of butter, whipped with some milk and then added a package of powdered sugar, as per Betty Crocker’s recipe. This is where I think I’d do something completely different next time. I may experiment with a saltier frosting, something with peanut butter or caramel, perhaps, because the cake is really just too sweet otherwise, said the woman whose family managed power through and eat the whole thing anyway.

 

Here’s how you do it:

  • Use your brownie mixes to make two round layers. I used a 9 inch round cake pan, which was perfect.
  • Using the cake pan as a guide, cut a 9 inch circle out of your rice crispy treats.
  • Assemble the cake by sandwiching the rice crispy layer between the two brownie layers. I put icing between the layers, as well, just to make sure nothing slid around. I don’t really think that’s necessary, though, since the marshmallows do a good job of keeping everything together.
  • Ice the outside of the cake however you like.
  • Say to yourself, “The Pioneer Woman would eat this!” and consume without guilt.

 

I still have no name for this cake, so any suggestions would be welcome! Have a great Friday, y’all!

 

3 Responses to “Storm Update and Cake Recipe”

  1. Granny November 2, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I can’t come up with a name either, but I really think Diabetic Shock should be in the title! Or maybe, Sugar Overload Cake might cover it all!

  2. Kristin Nicole November 2, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    my heart hurts just looking at that deliciousness!

  3. Valerie November 4, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    Whoa, that is one sugary cake! That icing looks divine!!

Leave a Reply

