Vegetarian

5 Nov

Note: I found this post from September. I apparently forgot to publish it ’cause I’m cool like that. Better late than never!

 

All I have to say is it’s a good thing we’re not raising Margaret in Texas because it’s becoming very apparent that Β she’d do nothing but bring us shame at every meal.

 

The kid almost never eats meat.

 

Once, when Vin took her to the grocery store and let her pick out a special treat, she chose a yellow pepper.

 

She’s spent the last week eating only grapes and carrots and a strawberry that she grew all by herself. (And by “grew” I mean that we found the potted strawberry plant in the backyard, gave it to the child, and told her to observe. We’re practically farmers!)

 

I don’t know what we’re doing wrong.

 

Unlike her older and wiser cousin, Mark, who could order his own filet at the age of three, Mags has no respect for red meat. And to top it all off, she’s got a butcher for a father. Irony at it’s finest.

 

What’s a red-blooded Texan parent to do? At least we can take solace in the fact that the kid does love bacon.

4 Responses to “Vegetarian”

  1. Katy November 5, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    Uh, she must take after her favorite Aunt Katy, her grandNanane, and her grand-godmother Carol!

  2. Valerie November 7, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    My daughter was/is the same way and always has been (she’s 12 years old now). She won’t even eat bacon but she will eat chicken sometimes. She is a cheese-a-hoilic and also big into pasta. πŸ˜‰ Is your husband really a butcher? Lol! Oh, the irony! Does your daughter just dislike the taste or does she understand that meat=animal? For my daughter, it’s both reasons. I was a vegetarian before having Samuel, but because of breastfeeding I have HAD to eat chicken for the protein. I will go back to a veg diet once he’s weaned, but who knows when that will be! So, I’m sure how I eat/ate has affected my daughter’s view of meat. My son (8), on the other hand, LOVES meat and flaunts it in our faces! Haha

    • ohblessyourheart November 7, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

      I think my daughter just really loves veggies! We feel very strongly about her knowing and being comfortable with where her food comes from, so she’s aware that meat comes from animals and that we should be grateful for the food they provide. We’ll see how her tastes change, though! As long as she’s healthy, I don’t think we can really complain! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

