5 Reasons You Should Read This Book: “In My Heart” by Molly Bang

7 Nov

Since I work in a library and sometimes get to -gasp!- actually read books, I thought it’d be a good idea to start a new segment entitled, “5 Reasons You Should Read This Book.” I’ll be reviewing and recommending books, mostly children’s but possibly adult, too, and giving you 5 reasons I think you should read them. Pretty simple.

 

Okay, so my first pick is, “In My Heart” by Molly Bang

 

1.) This is the perfect book for working families who are separated from one another during the day. It has been the biggest help for Mags who sometimes has trouble with me going to work…at least for the five seconds it takes for me to get out the door.

The book starts with the mother going to work and reminding her child that he’s always in her heart no matter what she’s doing throughout the day. And she’s in his heart, too! I really haven’t found a book that deals with this issue so sensitively and without condescending to the reader. The writing is natural and sweet.

 

2.) And speaking of sensitive and perfect, as you can see from the cover, the child and parents are of different races, so this book is wonderful for adoptive or foster families, too!

 

3.) Which leads me to my third point: Molly Bang is one of the few children’s authors who is able to achieve diversity in her work without trying too hard. Too many authors and illustrators attempt to tackle big issues like race and adoption but make the mistake of putting out work that says, “Look at me! Did you see what I did! Look how diverse and culturally sensitive I am!!” I have no time for that jazz.

Molly Bang is kind of like the Ernest Hemingway of children’s literature… it’s the iceberg theory in perfect, glorious practice and I love her for it.

 

4.) The illustrations in this book are absolutely gorgeous! The illustrations for “In My Heart” were inspired by the work of medieval monks, which is cool, so look for pictures that create beginning letters of words. Also be aware that Molly Bang has the most amazing eye for detail ever, so take your time to really absorb all of the pictures. And, AND, the more familiar you are with Bang’s work, the more you’ll get out of her illustrations because she likes to hide characters from other books in the pictures. Sneaky and fun!

 

5.) “In My Heart” should be the gateway book that gets you hooked on the rest of Molly Bang’s work. (Can you tell I’m sort of obsessed with her?) She’s won oodles (yes, oodles) of awards and honors for her work which include such wonderful titles as:

Depicts a little girl dealing with her anger in a healthy way…another favorite at our house!

 

 

A book of thankfulness… ‘Tis the season!

 

Incredible art and no words. Very fun!

 

I really could go on and on about how much I love Molly Bang’s books. Visit her website to find more about additional titles and subjects (lots of great science books!).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: Do remember that none of the authors/illustrators/publishers/book binders/publisher’s lackeys/book binder’s lackeys have any idea that I exist, nor are they affiliated with me in any way. Feel free to write them and request that they pay me a zilliondy dollars for telling my peeps about their books. Yes,   I just said “peeps” because I’m a child of the 90’s.

2 Responses to “5 Reasons You Should Read This Book: “In My Heart” by Molly Bang”

  1. Little Lights Doula Services November 7, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Excellent! I love the Sophie book. I’ll have to find “In my heart”.
    I’m still in love with “Bear on a Bike” and the other bear books, despite the necessitated rhyme scheme page on one of the pages.

    I want more of these posts, my dear!!

    • ohblessyourheart November 7, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      I’ll keep ’em coming! I did forget to mention that “In My Heart” is out of print, but I’m sure you can find it at the library and Amazon has several copies. Larve you!

Leave a Reply

