Giving Thanks

22 Nov

This has been a tough year. When I look back to last Thanksgiving when we were living with our dear friends in Florida, poised to pack it all up and move to Ohio, not sure why our plans didn’t pan out and very worried about the months to come, I’m really amazed that we’ve made it. And yet, I’m not, because God is so, so good.

 

This has been a year of incredible worry and incredible joy. We’ve moved a few times, made a few mistakes, said goodbye to a few friends. We’ve put down new roots, gained a lot of experience, made new friends (and suckered some of our other friends into moving here, too!). We’ve moved farther from and closer to family. We’ve welcomed a new life into the world, we’ve started over about a million times. I look back and I am floored by the generosity of others, without which we would most certainly not be where we are today. This year has truly opened my eyes to the way things can be.

 

Faced with a pregnancy and no healthcare, we’ve traveled a road that I never thought I’d be on. I have been incredibly humbled and floored by the generosity of others. Thanks to the research of my tireless mother-in-law and to an amazing organization called Womankind here in Cleveland, we got the prenatal care we needed, assistance with paperwork, counseling, and support we needed to make it through a very trying time.

 

The first time we met.

 

It’s been a very tough year and a very wonderful year. I’ve been stretched and pulled and challenged. I’ve been put through the ringer and, miraculously, am still on my feet. I’ve learned what it means to need and learned what it takes to receive help.  I’ve landed a job that couldn’t be more perfect for me with co-workers who inspire me and make me laugh every day. I’m beyond blessed to wake up every day with the most wonderful man on the planet, someone who constantly encourages, pushes, and loves me no matter what, someone who truly is my best friend.

 

Buddies at the Browns game…

 

I’ve learned so much about what it means to be a wife, a mother, a daughter, a friend. I’m still learning and I’m learning that it’s okay not to have all the answers. It’s okay to accept help, that I can’t do everything on my own and don’t need to. It’s been a rough ride, but I’m learning to be me and love me again. And, ohmysweetgoodness, am I thankful for long phone calls with my amazing mother, best friends, siblings.

 

This blog was started as an outlet for me to sort through the chaos around me. It has turned into one of the most positive things going on in my life, so thank you. Thank you for the encouragement, the comments, the “likes.” I couldn’t be more thankful for this community and I’m so excited to continue. Guys, I really feel like we’re going places! Things are looking up, things are getting better, and when things are hard there’s still opportunity to grow and change and start over. Everyday miracles over and over and over again.

 

That’s Mags perusing “Husband Coached Childbirth” before Lily was born. You know, just some light reading…

 

I’ll leave you with the hymn that’s been endlessly running through my head this morning:

 

1.)”Great is Thy faithfulness,” O God my Father,
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not
As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be.

“Great is Thy faithfulness!” “Great is Thy faithfulness!”
Morning by morning new mercies I see;
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided—
“Great is Thy faithfulness,” Lord, unto me!

2.) Summer and winter, and springtime and harvest,
Sun, moon and stars in their courses above,
Join with all nature in manifold witness
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

3.) Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
Thy own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

 

 

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Leave a Reply

