Keepin’ House

23 Jan

If you know anything about me, you know I’m a terrible housekeeper. This isn’t something new. As a child, my mother would complain about the detestable state of my bedroom and of how she couldn’t walk through without stepping on some stray article of clothing or toy or secret government experiment.

 

I frequently reminded her of the fact that there were clearly marked paths that went from door to bed, bed to closet, closet to desk to bed. I then explained that venturing into my room was basically like visiting a national park; you gotta stay on the trail, man! It’s like the first rule of scouting! And then I gave her the disclaimer: “I can’t be held responsible for what may or may not happen to you if you venture off the path.”  That all went over like a lead balloon, as I’m sure you can imagine.

 

And not much has changed since then. I still throw my clothes on the floor, I’m terrible about cleaning the kitchen, and I despise folding laundry. So here I find myself almost 28 years old, still living like a junior high slob. Only I’ve got a husband and two miniature slobs living here, too, and all of a sudden we’re an episode of “Hoarders.”

 

The hubz and I decided that, with all the homesteading improvements we want to make this summer, we had better get our butts organized during the winter. And we realized that it really just all comes down to discipline. For me, it also came down to the fact that I want a home that people enjoy visiting, that I enjoy coming home to. I don’t want to dread the mess when I walk in the door. Instead, I want to create a sanctuary that gives us all a sense of safety and rest.

 

So, I did what any self-respecting gal would do. I found my most organized friend from Texas who keeps a house I always envy and scanned her Pinterest boards like crazy town to see what she’s up to. (Stephanie, I’m talking about you, you wonder woman, you!) Guys, she has an entire board dedicated to cleaning and organizing. She is all that is woman.

 

Anyway I found this:

From Tips and Pix @ tipsandpix.com via Pinterest.

 

Huzzah! This thing is perfect for someone like me who is not great at managing my time. I know it probably comes as a surprise to a lot of you, but my brain is like a pinball machine when I don’t have a structured plan. I bounce all over the place, half-completing tasks, getting overwhelmed with the amount I tell myself I should accomplish in 24 hours and then I get super-distracted and end up reading the blogs of far more organized people wishing for the day that I wasn’t such a loon.

 

What I love about this cleaning calendar is that it’s simple, consistent, and completely doable.

 

What I don’t love about this cleaning calendar is that it wants me to “wipe down walls, baseboards, and doors” as well as, “spot clean upholstery and rugs.” Let’s be honest here. Ain’t no way I’m getting that detailed. Baby steps, y’all, baby steps. So I amended the calendar to accommodate the fact that I work an 8-hour shift on Tuesdays and I split the refrigerator/oven/microwave day to two days because ohmylordhaveyouseenmyfridge. So far it’s working incredibly well! Granted, we’re only two days in, but I have high hopes!

 

Another tool I’m using is this glorious printable from Ann Voskamp at A Holy Experience.  Go spend some time at this blog, in general, friends. It’s wonderful and there are a ton of great tools and ideas and encouragements to fuel your day. Endorsement over.

 

Image credit: Ann Voscamp aholyexperience.com

 

I love that this “Daily Draft” has spaces for meal planning and domestic duties as well as memory verses (my goal is to say a daily Rosary) and doxology. I truly believe that we shouldn’t separate our spiritual lives from our daily tasks. Christ is there through it all. Keeping a clean house is can be another way to honor Him, another way to pray for my family, another way to serve and to show love.

 

So, what about you? What are your secrets for keeping your house clean and your family sane? Do you have any awesome time-saving tricks or are you like me and need all the help you can get? If you’ve got some great insight or just want to commiserate, share in the comments! (All surly comments made by my parents should be kept to a minimum. That means you, Dad.)

11 Responses to “Keepin’ House”

  1. netexasgardeners January 23, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Who are you and what have you done with my daughter????

  2. Tamera January 23, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    I suggest picking up another shift at work and hiring a housekeeper, but that’s just me 🙂

  3. Haley Herber February 11, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    I like to clean a room/day and a load of laundry/day. I have a small house so it’s easiest that way. It only takes me a few hours at the most, depending on the size of the room of the day. I aspire to wake up at 6 or 7 so I can have a few hours to do it before Harrison gets up, but let’s be real…it doesn’t happen as much as I’d like to it.
    Sleep > cleaning.
    THERE. I said it.

    • ohblessyourheart February 11, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

      Um, how late does Harrison sleep?? Cause to get a few free hours I have to get up at 5. He’s sickeningly handsome AND he sleeps? Love that boy! But, I agree, sleep always trumps cleaning. 🙂

      • haleyherber February 12, 2013 at 6:55 am #

        He normally sleeps until 9ish. He’s pretty much a sleeping superhero.
        5am is a terrifying hour that no one should ever be subjected to.

        I think if we were able to get Maggie and Harrison together, friendship sparks might fly. It is out of control that she uses an English accent. They seem to have some of the same goofy quirkiness that makes our jobs the best jobs on the planet.

  4. DonnaLee March 17, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

    Have you been to Flylady.net???? Johnny & Holly just luuved it when I made them Control Journals (insert evil laughter here LOL!)

    • ohblessyourheart March 21, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      I’ll have to check it out! It’s gotta be good if it leads to such evil laughter!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Seven Things: Part Nine « ohblessyourheart - January 25, 2013

    […] My husband is pretty much the most amazing person ever. He’s jumped in on my cleaning schedule without questioning at all and has gone above and beyond. Plus he does all kinds of cool things […]

  2. Real Life: When Mama’s Sick « ohblessyourheart - January 31, 2013

    […] Remember my awesome housekeeping goals? Yeah, I’m adding an amendment to that which states that I don’t have to do anything when I’m sick. This includes, but is not limited to: cleaning, bathing (myself or others), doing laundry (even though I did wash diapers today because I’m a martyr for the cause), and cooking. […]

Leave a Reply

