Seven Things: Part Nine

25 Jan

1.) We’re all “secret spies” today… I’m “Secret Spy Mommy” and I’m joined by “Secret Spy Lily” and “Secret Spy Banjo”. We are led fearlessly by “Secret Spy Maggie” who pronounces it, “Speeket Spy” and makes us look through her super spy gadget glasses, which are clear plastic Rapunzel princess slippers held up to our eyes. That’s the best way to see clues, I’m told. Clues to what mystery, I cannot say…

 

2.) We have a crawler, y’all.

 

All my photos are grainy. My apologies…

 

Also, she’s incredibly cute when she sleeps. Just so’s you know…

 

So tiny in the “fancy bed” at Nana’s house…

 

 

3.) Maggie-isms for the week:

 

-Maggie’s new favorite question to ask us is, “Whatchoo think you’re doin’??”

-To my great pride, she likes to talk in a British accent, especially when we’re pretending to be “fancy ladies” or when she’s asking someone if they “wemembah??” something in particular.

-A few moments ago I heard a screech from upstairs where she was watching Little Einsteins. Apparently she’d changed the channel by accident. Mags came bounding down the stairs yelling, “Mama! I turned your show on and it’s real bad!!” I went up to discover that she’d turned on The View. Not “my show,” but definitely bad!

-Life is hard for a girl who insists on wearing a tutu to bed. Especially when your pull-up leaks on said tutu, “Maaaammaa! My tutu’s wet! We needa waaash it!”

Hot cocoa after a FREEZING walk outside with Daddy. Look at those cheeks!

 

4.) I successfully stripped my cloth diapers, which is just a special way of washing them to get rid of the stank and any buildup that might be present. What a difference! I got the “recipe” from a blog I found via Google, A Collection of Passions.  If you use Bum Genius diaps or cloth diaper in general, this is a good resource. Also she rocked my world with this tip: Use a spatula to scoop off the poop. Now this might sound gross, but you obviously don’t use the spatula for food ever again and it sure beats the heck out of paying forty bucks for a diaper sprayer, which I have just never gotten around to.

 

5.) My husband is pretty much the most amazing person ever. He’s jumped in on my cleaning schedule without questioning at all and has gone above and beyond. Plus he does all kinds of cool things with Mags like teaching her to make her own homemade noodles. I ate some and they were awesome!

 

6.) The Newbery and Caldecott awards will be announced on the 28th and I’m super-excited. I’m also super-excited by the past winners display we’ve got up at work. I’m plowing through award-winning books as fast as I can. So, here’s what I’m reading this week: The Underneath by Kathi Appelt with drawings by David Small

Image via Simon and Schuster.com

 

Here’s the book overview from Children’s Bookstore.com :

There is nothing lonelier than a cat who has been loved, at least for a while, and then abandoned on the side of the road.

An abandoned calico cat, about to have kittens, hears the achingly lonely howl of a chained up, abused hound dog deep in the bayou. She dares to find him in the forest and the hound dares to befriend this cat, this feline, this creature he is supposed to hate. They are an unlikely pair, about to become an unlikely family. Ranger urges the cat to hide underneath the porch, to raise Sabine and Puck there because Gar-Face, the man living inside the house, will surely use her or her kittens as alligator bait should he find them. But, they are safe in the underneath…as long as they stay in the underneath.

Kittens, however, are notoriously curious creatures. And one kitten’s one moment of curiosity sets off a chain of events that is astonishing, remarkable, and enormous in its meaning. In the tradition of Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Flannery O’Connor, and Carson McCullers, Kathi Appelt spins a harrowing yet keenly sweet tale about the power of love (and its opposite, hate), the fragility of happiness — and the importance of making good on your promises.

It is so, so good!

 

7.) Today is the 4oth anniversary of the March for Life.

 This is a really phenomenal post by Simcha Fischer on why it’s important to use graphic images of aborted babies only when necessary  and not as a go-to tool.

And here’s another great post by Simcha on using our spiritual gifts to promote the pro-life movement.

 

 

I hope you all have had/continue to have a spectacular week!

Leave a Reply

