I’m Back!

28 Mar

Oh, my law, guys…it has been far, far too long! Hopefully absence makes the heart grow fonder, but regardless, it’s good to be back!

 

Between family visiting from Texas, the Stomach Bug From Hell, a road trip to Tampa for our best friends’ wedding, a visit to Disney, and a road trip home featuring “Return of the Stomach Bug From Hell”, we’re pretty much exhausted. And some of us are still ashamed of the number we did on a gas station toilet somewhere in West Virginia. But then, others of us feel that it was in retribution for the rock slide in West Virginia that caused us to be stuck on the highway for three hours with a two-year-old and a ten-month-old. Fair is fair, folks.

 

So, here are my observations from our trip:

1. Pack with ziplocs. I wish I could remember where I saw this idea so I could give the genius credit, but I can’t hunt it down. Anyway, one of my biggest pet peeves about packing for kids is that all of their things are teeeeeeny tiny, so when you remove one shirt, everything else falls over or unfolds and you’re left with a bag full of chaos. So, the idea is simple: put an entire outfit, shirt, pants, undies, socks, hair accessories, everything you’ll need for a day in a ziploc bag. This way you can see which outfits are which and you don’t have to rummage around for thirty minutes trying to find socks. I ended up using a lot of plastic bags, however, I figure if they’re only holding clean laundry, we can definitely reuse them when we get home. So, here’s what nine days of travel for our two little ladies ended up looking like:

Yowza, that's a lot of clothes...but oh, so organized!

Yowza, that’s a lot of clothes…but oh, so organized!

This method was also nice since it allowed us the ability to grab an extra outfit to take in the diaper bag in case of accidents, emergencies, whatever. I’m definitely doing this again!

 

2. It is 100% possible to traverse the country with two kids under the age of three without the use of electronic devicesBoom shakalaka. Seriously, guys, this is completely doable. Mags got carsick the one time we tried to show her a video in the car so from then on, we’ve avoided traveling with dvd players like the plague.

 

Now, let me say this. I am completely aware of the fact that we’ve been blessed with good travelers. I know that not all kids are cool with being in the car for a zillion hours, or even thirty minutes. My poor mother-in-law was forced to sit beside her youngest on car trips in order to cushion the blows he gave himself by bonking his head against his car seat over and over and over again. Which explains a lot about my brother-in-law.

 

We’re very fortunate that we’re able to load up our phones with tunes and get through the hard times that way. I will say that we listened to a looooot of songs on repeat, but at least the kid has good taste and likes The Muppets soundtrack. (Jason Segel, I am forever in your debt.) We also packed an awesome bucket full of coloring pages, books, small toys, and a few Target dollar aisle surprises that were dispersed along the way. We played a lot of “I Spy” and “Would You Rather” which consists of questions like, “Mama, would you rather be an elephant or a house?” Were it not for the three hour rock slide delay, I think we’d have made it both ways without any meltdowns. Regardless, it was a great trip and I’m so glad we accomplished it without Angry Birds or Fruit Ninja or Leapster, etc.

 

Diva.

 

 

3. I love Disney World. And I love this picture I forced my family to take.

 

Love.

Love.

For those of you who don’t know, my husband and I met while on an internship at Disney’s Animal Kingdom. This picture was taken in the exact spot where we spoke for the very first time, and I thought, “Hey, this guy is pretty funny!” (And then I stalked him until I made him mine…mwuahahahaha!)

 

At some point we’ll collaborate on a “Traveling to Disney” post to share some of the things we’ve learned from being cast members in different parts of the parks, etc. Anyway, here are some more pictures from our quick trip!

 

Please note that all highly traited explorers wear frilly socks and princess shoes.

Please note that all highly trained explorers wear frilly socks and princess shoes.

 

 

DSC_0652

 

 

DSC_0672

 

 

DSC_0722

 

 

DSC_0811

 

 

4. I laarve weddings! Especially when they’re the weddings of two dream boats like these two…

 

Photo courtesy of Limelight Weddings..seriously talented!! Check them out at http://www.limelightweddings.net

 

5. Thanks for sticking around!  Seriously, I’m so grateful for all of the people who sent me messages to encourage me to get back to blogging. Sometimes it’s hard to get back in the habit of something…even if it’s something you enjoy immensely. So, yeah…much love and thanks to all of you!

5 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. Katie March 28, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    So would you rather be a house or an elephant? I think house because then you’d get to listen to a lot of people’s stories. Plus elephants have to be pregnant for 2 years. 🙂

    Such cute photos!

    • ohblessyourheart March 28, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

      Haha…I always go for the living thing over the inanimate, but now that you put the story aspect into it, I may reconsider!

  2. Valerie March 28, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Hi, soo glad to see you again!! What a horrid stomach thing. 😦 Glad you had such fun in Disney (your daughters are precious, precious!!) And how cool to take a photo in front the place you met. ❤

    • ohblessyourheart March 28, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

      Thanks! Also, SO sorry I never responded to the award you nominated me for…I wasn’t ignoring you, I promise!! Hope all is well with you!

  3. Granny Garr March 28, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

    Great family picture! And, the girls look like they loved Disney. It’s great to see you blogging again! I always enjoy reading the humorous version of the escapades — the Stomach Bug from Hell. Well, it was almost funny! Glad you are better and survived the travel. The bags were a super idea!

Leave a Reply

