Three

29 Mar

Maggie turned three two days ago. She woke me up that morning by stumbling into our room and standing by my side of the bed. Instead of climbing in like she usually does, she asked me to hold her like a baby and rock her. She’ll never know what a gift she gave her mama in the early hours of that morning.

 

As I was rocking her, singing “Potta Fountah” (aka “Come Thou Fount,” her favorite), I thought about how big she is, how much she’s grown and how tiny she was in the hospital, this little person who took forever to come into this world. And I thought about her sweet sister asleep in the crib, probably sucking her first two fingers exactly the way she did when the nurse put her in my arms for the first time. My mind turned to New Baby, just fourteen weeks along and already so treasured and adored.

 

I thought about the mystery of life, that a Creator so great would know me so intimately. That He would give me the desires of my heart, even when I don’t feel capable, even when it’s not according to the calendar I ridiculously planned. And I thought about grace that smooths over fear like a mother soothing a hot forehead and I could not think of anything more in this world that I wanted.

 

So on this gloriously Good Friday, as we celebrate the sacrifice of our Savior, I’m so excited to share this news with you! Baby Number Three will debut somewhere around the 22nd of September and we couldn’t be more excited! This also happens to explain a lot of my blogging absence because this pregnancy has been waaaaay different from the last two and I’m just. so. tired. I’ve been feeling much more energetic as of late, though, so here’s hoping that the second trimester treats us right! We’ll be finding out Baby’s gender in about a month, so stay tuned for that…and have an incredibly blessed, peaceful, and joyful Easter Holiday!

 

Much love!

Mary Susan

8 Responses to “Three”

  1. Haley @ Carrots for Michaelmas March 29, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    What wonderful news!!!!!! So so happy 🙂

    • ohblessyourheart March 29, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      Thanks, Haley!! We’ve got to keep up with you guys, right?? 😉 Also, this is belated, but I loved your post about finding time for yourself a few days ago…just what I needed!

  2. Pat Thurman March 29, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Congratulations, Mary Susan, to you and Vinnie on the news of an addition to our family. I don’t think there will be anymore coming from your Houston family so you are taking up the slack. Heading to Canadian and Fritch next Saturday to spend time with your Mom and Dad, Elaine and Kenneth. Wish you were going to be there with us. It will be fun, we always have such a good time together.

    Hope you and your having have a wonderful Easter weekend. Love to all…..Aunt Patricia

  3. Pat Thurman March 29, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

    That would be you and your “family” have a wonderful Easter weekend! HA

  4. Anne Farrar March 29, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    Congrats to you MS!! Fantastic news!

  5. Granny Garr March 30, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    The bar is set sooo high! I’m saying that the cutest little girls in the world live in Cleveland, and the cutest little guys reside in College Station. It might get interesting if we mix genders. I can get my pronouns straight since you and your brother have nicely divided gender. Well, I mostly get them straight. So, I’m just saying that Granny Garr is bound to get even more confused if Three is a boy! But my children make the BEST children so we are excited to add to the grands!

  6. Holly April 3, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    Congratulations!! Somehow I rated the post not knowing what the heck I did! I’m so excited for you guys 🙂

  7. Valerie April 9, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Congratulations! We are trying for #4. 🙂 Btw, I’m writing an article about the pains and sensations of childbirth that you might like to contribute to: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/your-childbirth-experience/ Let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

