Seven Things: 18

22 Nov

So I’m a little late in getting this week’s Seven Things out, but here it is anyway!

 

1.) I am so grateful for the response to my post on postpartum depression. I’m so encouraged by people’s stories, but more by the incredible amount of understanding, support, and community that came from it.

I think the biggest realization I got from the feedback I received was that many times we don’t think we’re struggling with something like postpartum depression because we’re not neglecting our children. Now, I’m no medical doctor, but I think a lot of the depression can come from trying to do too much, from not cutting ourselves some slack, and from holding ourselves to impossible standards.

The other thing I was reminded of is that there are more of us struggling that we think. As someone so wisely put it in the comments on Facebook, “the world is full of good actors.” So if you do nothing else today, please go love on somebody. We all need it.

 

 

2.) So, in order to cheer things up from the last post, I shall now share some things that make me laugh, the first of which is completely juvenile and I’m not sorry. If you’re offended by pictures of Olympic divers photoshopped onto toilets, do not click this link. If you think that’s hi-larious, which you should because it is, then by all means click away!

 

If adorable is more your style, please visit the endlessly entertaining Buzzfeed for this list of 15 Animals You Wish Were Your Coworkers.

 

 

3.) Then go listen to this song because it’s totally my new jam.

 

 

4.)Today’s College Buddy Blog you should visit is from Rachel at Wull Hay. Let me tell you a little story. In college I had these things called “Project Friends.” Basically, I’d scope out incredibly cool people that I aspired to be friends with and then wiggle my way into their lives, hoping that they’d take pity on me and teach me their cool ways. My Junior year I managed to be chosen to direct the university pageant (you read that right) and I took the opportunity to make my three biggest project friends my assistant directors. One is Maggie’s godfather, one took our wedding pictures, and one is Rachel.

Rach is just the most amazing person like ever. She’s original and creative, and hilarious and a phenomenal writer. She’s a fabulous graphic designer, radio dj, rock climber/skiier/biker/superwoman, and she organizes the most elaborate shenanigans with her friends. Also, she’s the best dancer I’ve ever known. Please, please, please check out her writing. I’ve had a crush on this blog forever. It’s seriously worth your time to dig waaay back into the archives and read all about the time she went to Australia as an au pair and how she found her way back to the states. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll fall in love with Rachel and you’ll thank me later.

 

 

5.) Vin took me on the best date ever. We went shooting at the gun range, the first time I’ve been able to go since I’ve been perpetually pregnant for the last 2.5 years. Gosh, I love shooting guns. It’s seriously the best stress reliever ever…and it definitely helps that I’m not too shabby a shot.

 

I need a sharp shooting alias. I’m currently accepting suggestions.

 

 

6.) This happened the other night:

Pigs fear this man.

 

That is a fresh ham that is currently curing in our kitchen, soon to be smoked in a Thanksgiving extravaganza of epic proportions. Clearly I’m excited. What are y’all eating for Turkey Day?

 

 

7.) Good links:

Check out Selfies: More Than Snaps by Kiran at Mummy Says. It’s another great reminder for moms to get in front of the camera every now and then…even if half your face is missing from the shot.

 

This is an interesting opportunity to contribute to an ebook. Share Your Story of conception, birth, postpartum, or nursing at An Ethnography of American BirthThe project is really interesting and aims to investigate “how American culture affects pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period.” I’m going to try to contribute if I ever finish Ev’s birth story…

 

And I thought this post, “A Love That Never Ends” by Jenny at the Catholic Exchange was especially relevant this week. Just SO good.

 

Have a great weekend, everybody! Thanks, again, for the love this week. It was felt, I assure you!

Mary Susan

Leave a Reply

