Seven Things: 19

30 Nov

I trust you all had a wonderful and tremendously filling Thanksgiving! As for me, I ate my weight in pie and I’m not sorry. Here’s our Seven Things from this week!

 

1.) I want to create a YouTube channel called, “Breaking News From the Mouths of Babes.” It has come to my attention that the news flashes that frequently interrupt my adult conversation/cooking/showering are probably important enough that the rest of the world needs to be in on them. I mean, I shouldn’t be the only person privy to information like, insert vintage news room beeping alert “Mama, Mama, Mama, Mama!! I’m eatin’ a salami sandwich!!!” Am I right, or what? I mean, the people need to know!!

 

2.) Have you read “Dad is Fat” by Jim Gaffigan? I haven’t yet, but I really, really want to. Here’s a video a friend sent me because he’s seen the chaos that is our life.

 

3.) My sister-in-law, Lauren, and I have an undying devotion to all things Pioneer Woman. The last couple of Thanksgivings, Lauren has made these Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic and Cranberries and they are my absolute favorite! If you haven’t tried brussels sprouts in a while, try this recipe and you’ll be so happy you did. If you can manage to get a unsuspecting relative to make them for you, they’re even better!

 

4.) Tomorrow is the first Sunday of Advent! It’s pretty much my favorite season in the Church Year.

Haley over at Carrots for Michaelmas wrote a great piece called Advent Unplugged. It pretty much sums up a lot of things that have been on my mind lately. I had intended to take Haley’s advice and remove Facebook from my phone during Advent, as it’s basically the biggest distraction/waste of time everrrr. I figured I could just use the reggo computer for my Facebooking, since I don’t want to completely remove my account as it’s the best way for me to keep up with all of our out of state family and friends. But, of course, the computer just gave me the Blue Screen of Death, so…I’m just going to do my best to avoid my phone unless absolutely necessary. Anyone else have any ideas on how to unplug and refocus during Advent?

 

5.) My in-laws live in a quaint little town conveniently located out of the city and in just enough “country” to make me feel completely at home when the stress of “town living” gets to me. (If you didn’t grow up in the middle of nowhere Texas, I’m sure this is hard to understand…just humor me.) Anyway, their town has the best holiday celebrations. Last night we went to the Christmas Tree Lighting with the girls and it was SO fun! We got to go outside in the snow at night, which is exciting for little ones in and of itself, and on top of that there was carol singing! We sang and sang and sang so loud that Santa heard us and showed up on a fire truck…therefore reinforcing Maggie’s firm belief that all emergency vehicles are working for ‘Ol Saint Nick. The biggest hit of the night was that the girls got to carry around tiny lanterns with battery powered tea lights in them. Margaret was literally in tears when she had to turn hers back in. So, if anyone knows where we can get a tiny lantern with a light in it, lemme know! It is now an urgent need!

 

 

 

 

6.) And, while Lily went on a girls date with Aunt Lauren to wreak havoc on World Market, Mags made some cookies with Nana!

 

All the best chefs bake in their jammies, right?

 

7.) And, last, since there’s been such talk of food in this post (and because I can’t get the computer to load the pictures I wanted to share…argh.), what was the best food you ate this Thanksgiving? Are you a pie person like me? Or do you live for stuffing? Or is it dressing? Or are you like me and demand BOTH stuffing and dressing because your heart lies neither north nor south of the Mason Dixon?

 

Have a great weekend, y’all!

Mary Susan

 

Leave a Reply

