Back to Work

18 Dec

So, yesterday was my first day back to work since having Ev. It was a nine hour day, the longest I’ve been apart from the kids in almost three months. I was pretty tender about it, to say the least.

But, oh my goodness is it wonderful to be covered in prayer. I truly have the best friends and family. I got so many encouraging text messages and Facebook posts throughout the day. My coworkers were lovely and my sweet, sweet husband sent me pictures and notes in my lunch. Plus he made this Texan a breakfast quesadilla complete with homemade tortillas and fresh chorizo he made at the store. If I have any advice for my single friends, it’s to land a man who’s good in the kitchen. Butchers make the best husbands y’all, hands down. (In all actuality it’s best friends that make the best husbands, but butchery never hurts.)

So, in uncharacteristic fashion I made it to work like twenty minutes early, which is fortunate since I left my name tag at home and couldn’t get in the building. I had to sit in the car and stalk one of my coworkers to get in. Pretty typical, overall.

And if I had to be back at work, all I can say is I’m glad I work in the children’s department of a library because there was a whole new shipment if puppets waiting for me.

Guys. We got the fatsiest fat cat puppet I’ve ever seen and, AND a llama puppet!!! Also, there’s a ferret, which I hate in real life because one of my best friends in high school had a ferret named Steve who was allowed to roam around the house and he cornered me once and I’m scarred for life. Incidentally this friend also had a three legged cat named Mr. Nubs, which completely made up for the ferret issue. (Ike, I love you.) Anyway, ferrets are adorable in puppet form and my life is pretty much complete.

I cuddled that llama puppet for a bizarre amount of time given fact that I’m supposed to be a professional, but he was super soft and I’m not sorry.

And wouldn’t you know it, but llamas shed? So I had llama fur all over my black skirt.

All through my story time I couldn’t kick the feeling that something was weird about that skirt anyway. Like, why did it have a slit on only one side??

Maybe because I was wearing it sideways. Just maybe.

Clearly I have worn nothing but sweat pants for three months as I have lost the ability to comprehend how professional wear functions. What. Evs.

And once I turned it around, you’d better bet that I had llama fur on only one side of the skirt, but mostly my butt. It was as though I had ridden a llama sidesaddle to work, which is now on my bucket list.

I’m back at work again for the rest of the week, so we’ll see what shenanigans I can get into! Much love and thanks for all the prayers, guys!

13 Responses to “Back to Work”

  1. Diana McGarr December 18, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    This is NOT good. I was innocently reading along, enjoying this until I got to the part about riding a llama side-saddle. I laughed so vigorously that as soon as I post this comment, I am going to have to shut down the iPad and clean the saliva spots off the screen! Is there any way to post warnings so your crazy humor won’t sneak up on me and create this kind of problem again? Blessings on the rest of your week!

  2. stepheniejones December 18, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    I’m glad your day didn’t go too terribly. I’m sorry you have to be back at work so soon though. They just don’t give us enough time!! You are quite hilarious, though, my friend. I had a good hearty laugh at this.

  3. Aunt Jeanie December 18, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    A warning about upcoming HILARIOUSness would be appreciated – I read this at work and now my co workers may think I have a hidden friend in my office. Also reminded me of an “incident” that happened at my old job loooong ago. I was standing next to my desk with one knee on my chair and when I went to put my foot back on the floor my heel caught on the hem of my skirt and i literally knocked myself to the ground. I was laughing so hard I couldn’t get up and my friend two cubicles down couldn’t figure out where I went!!!

    • ohblessyourheart December 18, 2013 at 10:39 am #

      Hahaha, I am dying right now!! The mental picture is priceless! Glad I’m not the only one!

    • Judy Delagrange December 18, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

      Um, a warning from you would also be nice, Jeanie! Especially when one is drinking a mocha latte cafe while reading about you knocking yourself down at work. hahahahahhahahahhahahahahhahaha

      • ohblessyourheart December 18, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

        Seriously, I’m still laughing about this. Have I ever told you guys about the time I fell down with a bass drum? Another post, perhaps…

  4. Sheryl Simmons December 18, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    Luv, luv, luv your posts!!!!! This was hilarious. Loved the sideways skirt story!

  5. Judy Delagrange December 18, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Ohhh…..llamas! I think he was sent there especially to make your first day back lovely! Ohhhh….llamas!

    • ohblessyourheart December 18, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

      Right?? It was meant to be…and I may have pressured my boss into ordering that llama before I left. 🙂

  6. Mimi Duncan December 22, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    I love this post! You are doing fine job of juggling multiple priorities and keeping your sense of humor. Really a stupendous job on that last one!

    I know you know you are not alone, as so many young families count on the income the mother brings in. Cameron calls me a couple of times during the day while she sits in a quiet room at the hospital and pumps breast milk. One of the great things about Obama-care is that it encourages moms to breast feed. Cameron was able to get a Rolls Royce of a breast pump for the price of the tax (around $13). It is a hands-free, double pump, and the milk goes directly into bottles in a chilled compartment.

    I went into detail on this mostly because I am amazes by this miraculous device. When I was what my husband referred to as the Dairy Queen, the only pump I had was a tea cup and my thumb to express milk–hardly very efficient. But mostly I am deeply moved by the lengths so many mothers will go to make life good for their families.

    Well done, Mary Susan! You are an exquisite juggler. Carry on!

    • ohblessyourheart December 22, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      Thank you so much, Mims, and way to go Cameron!! I pump in our story time closet and I’m so grateful for my pump. I got stranded without one last weekend and had to hand express milk…zero fun, to say the least! And if any of us young mamas are able to do great things for our kids it’s because of the good example and inspiration we get from those who have gone before. Thank you for being such a wonderful mom to so many and for the lovely words! Love you!!

Leave a Reply

