Seven Things: 20

7 Feb

Hay. Here’s seven things that have happened this week.

 

1.) Sweet Lord in Heaven there’s a mouse in my house and it got in my dishwasher and I can’t even handle thinking about it oh my Lord, oh my Lord, oh my Looooooorrrrrd.

Apparently I’ve been having a bit of a melodramatic reaction to it because Lily walks around screaming, “Nooooooo! Yuck! Naughty mouse! Nooooo!” I think the girls are also confused because one of their favorite books is “The Tale of Two Bad Mice” by Beatrix Potter. Tom Thumb and Hunca Munca are so adorable while they’re sneaking into that doll house and stealing furniture and dressing up their little mousie babies…but not so much when they’re in Mama’s dishwasher. Sorry Beatrix, but homie don’t play that.

Update! Just before the time of publication I received a text that read, “Good morning. I love you. I caught a mouse last night.” And there was great rejoicing.

 

 

2.) Speaking of Lily screaming, that’s all she does. Like ever. Her favorite activity is stumbling around, wailing as loudly as possible. When she doesn’t get the appropriate level of attention, which is 1000% of the attention of every living human present, she claws at our legs and says, “I’m crying! I’m cryyyyying!” You know, just in case we hadn’t noticed.

 

 

3.) And speaking of things going horribly, horribly wrong – we were speaking of that weren’t we?- our furnace went out. Because the Polar Vortex hates us that’s why. Luckily we were able to crash at my in-laws until the repairman could save us. It was 35 degrees in the house when we got home, so we’re super fortunate that the pipes didn’t freeze, too! Kind of a rough week, all the way around.

 

Nothing like bundled up breakfast and naps in a bear suit to drive home the fact that winter is NEVER going to end…I really hate Punxatawny Phil this year.

 

 

4.) My mom brought us some really amazing pear jam a while back and it’s been taunting me from the refrigerator for weeks.

 

I had to. And as my brilliant friend, Haley, said on Facebook, I should pair it with some Eddie Breadder. Heh, heh, heh!

 

 

5.) And Vin got to go to anamazing organic pig/trout farm that is going to be working with his store. He brought home a ton of complimentary pig meat and it is all kinds of delicious. So I got a lesson on boning out tenderloins and making chops, which was fantastic…especially when paired with fried eggs, gravy, and homemade biscuits. I should really have food guilt about this, but I just don’t care.

 

For those of you who have accused me of perpetrating the recent crimes around here, all I got to say is, mess with me one more time and I’ll cut you!!!

 

 

6.) My favorite Maggie quotes as of late:

Heard from another room, accompanied by loud noises- “Mama, I’m not dressed up…but I made somethin’ happen!!”

 

“Liiiiiillly!! You’re sitting on my dream come true!”

 

Peeking out from the side of the couch, clearly hoping that this last-ditch effort would work- “Cuckoo! Cuckoo! Time for Lily and Everett to go to bed! Cuckoo!”

 

 

7.) Some of the best links from the week:

Daniel over at Carrots for Michaelmas talking about greatness…seriously so good and got me all fired up about life – “Who Are You to Deny Greatness”

And speaking of greatness, congratulations to Haley of Carrots on being asked to be a speaker at the Edel Gathering! So deserved and so exciting! I might be Haley’s biggest internet fan. Actually, I’m pretty sure I am.

And I’m praying that I’ve somehow managed to stay in the realm of “interesting interwebs stranger” and haven’t accidentally wandered over into “well-meaning but creepy internet weirdo.” ‘Cause how do you really know that the internet weirdos are well-meaning? You don’t. Lordy be, where is this tangent taking me????

Anyway. I’d laaaarve to go to this conference because it features some of the most amazing Catholic bloggers/writers out there (!) and it’s in Austin (!!) and they have Mexican food there (!!!). And Amy’s ice cream. And I’d be so close to my alma mater, UMHB…and I really can’t get my hopes up because the odds of being able to make it are all kinds of slim. A girl can dream though.

 

 

Back to links! Thanks to my dear friend, Mimi, I was reminded of the amazing website, Reasons My Son Is Crying. This is my favorite since Lily does this all. the. time.

 

 

 

And, guys, if you haven’t taken a zillion Buzzfeed quizzes lately, you clearly don’t know anything about anything. Please, do me a favor and take all of these. Then report back here. Go on! Shoo, shoo!

What Nice Thing Should You Do For Someone Today?

What Type of Parent Are You?

Which Sandwich Are You?

Which Pixar Movie Are You?

Which 90’s Nickelodeon Show Are You?

And, because it’s very necessary on a list of quizzes like this, What Arbitrary Thing Are You?

 

 

 

Have a great weekend, y’all!

11 Responses to “Seven Things: 20”

  1. Aunt Jeanie February 7, 2014 at 10:38 am #

    First of all – tell Maggie that she is the funniest child i have ever heard “…….but I made somethin’ happen”. If that phrase doesn’t make you go runnin’ I don’t know what will. Second of all – my mouse story – Apparently one got picked up with the laundry and went through the wash – as I was putting it into the dryer I saw something in the bottom of the washer – “a small sock” I think to myself – Noooo – a super clean dead mouse that i just picked up – and promptly threw as far as I could.

    • ohblessyourheart February 7, 2014 at 11:10 am #

      Gaaaaaahhh!!! I would have freaked! And Maggie just said, “What?! That’s silly, why did she wash a mouse??”

  2. Haley @ Carrots for Michaelmas February 7, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    Oh my goodness, I hope hope HOPE you can make it to Austin! It’s so close to you! AMY’S! And there’s this Indian place called the Clay Pit that I intend to drag everyone to so that I can gorge myself on curried mussels. Let’s do this!

    • ohblessyourheart February 7, 2014 at 11:15 am #

      Oh, I wish we were still close! We’re in Ohio now, so it’s a bit more of a stretch. But I’m still going to try!!! I’ve heard great things about the Clay Pit, too…gosh I’m so in need of an Austin fix!

  3. haleyherber February 7, 2014 at 12:22 pm #

    Eddie Breader….hehe.

    I got:
    1) Leave an anonymous sticky note.
    2) The hipster parent. Haha.
    3) Grilled cheese.
    4) The movie Up!
    5) Rocko’s Modern Life
    6) A big rusty hook…..?

    I love a good buzz feed quiz!

    • ohblessyourheart February 7, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

      Hahahaha, a big rusty hook??? I got off brand soda. So, yeah…awesome!

  4. Little Lights Doula Services February 7, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

    Every time I see those “reasons my child is crying” I think “OF COURSE they’re crying about that and here’s why…”
    If you do come to Austin, you can have a free place to stay with me!
    I promise not to sit on your dream come true. (That is the Disneyest of Disney things to say.)

    • ohblessyourheart February 7, 2014 at 6:58 pm #

      I already thought of crashing with you, actually!! I’ll keep you posted, friend!

  5. stepheniejones February 7, 2014 at 5:07 pm #

    1) Make a playlist
    2) The General (I could see that…)
    3) Soggy veggie wrap, I think I might be offended…
    4) Ratatouille
    5) Rocko’s Modern Life. Nailed the existentialist part.
    6) The Baha Men.

  6. Little Lights Doula Services February 8, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    Also, in order:
    1) leave an anonymous sticky note
    2) effortlessly cool
    3) PB&J
    4) UP
    5) The Adventures of Pete and Pete
    6) A box of hangers (“Maybe you’ll come in handy one day.”)

Leave a Reply

