Chin Up!

10 Oct

Hey, guys! I’m still alive, I’m just…heavy. I’ve had one of those weeks when I’m just completely worn out by sick kids, a messy home, bickering, work, too many commitments, negative self talk, everything. It’s also been one of those weeks when I’ve had the privilege to talk to friends who are feeling some of the same things.

One of my best friends just called me in tears, having the worst day ever, trying to get herself together in order to get to work and I just felt like I was talking to myself. We’re living very different lives and yet we’re both overwhelmed. We’re both struggling to find ourselves in the midst of our daily chaos and that’s hard. We agreed that so much of our days are spent just fighting to stay on top, that nothing seems to come easily, every single step we take is an absolute struggle, and nothing is a given. That’s just where we are right now.

And what I told her and what I told myself and that I’m telling you now is, regardless of all of that, we’re still worthy. No amount of laundry, no lack of money, no frustrations over jobs or relationships, no feelings of insecurity or self hate will ever change the fact that we are worthy. We are lovely, we are treasured, we matter. And even if it doesn’t feel like it, that’s the truth.

So my desire for all of us is to speak this truth to each other. Take some time this weekend to call a friend, send an email to someone who you know is having a rough time, tell the cashier at the grocery store, “You matter.” Because it’s true.

If you want a gorgeous and fun way to do this, check out the compliment cards over at Help a Girl Out! They’re free printables and a very sweet way to pass on some love.

And just to pep you up, here’s the “chin up” song from Matilda the musical I’ve had on repeat this week.

I just love this lyric…

In the slip of a bolt, there’s a tiny revolt.
The seeds of a war in the creak of a floorboard.
A storm can begin, with the flap of a wing.
The tiniest mite packs the mightiest sting!
Every day, starts with the tick of a clock.
All escapes, start with the click of a lock!

‘Cause if you’re little you can do a lot, you
Mustn’t let a little thing like, ‘little’ stop you
If you sit around and let them get on top, you
Won’t change a thing!

Big things almost always have small beginnings, my friends. So, if you’re feeling small and like you don’t make a difference, just remember that you’re loved and you have the power to do great things! Chin up, loves!

XOXO,

Mary Susan

One Response to “Chin Up!”

  1. Granny Garr October 10, 2014 at 1:53 pm #

    I am at our diocesan convention for the Nortwest Diocese of the Episcopal Church in Texas. Mary Susan, you blog mirrors what has been said here. Small movements make a difference. But, we do not need to worry about transforming the world. We should rather focus on making this our mantra, “Love like Christ!” God bless your mess and you. It is your love that will survive.

Leave a Reply

